#HLSDITL – Tuesday

I’m participating in Hack Library School’s Day in the Life to share my daily experience as a library school student. More info: here. Interested in what other students are up to? Check out #HLSDITL tags across Twitter, WordPress, Tumblr.

On Monday I stayed home sick instead of working my normal 8-5 schedule. I did do #HLSDITL post by illustrating my day in gifs.

My work desk

My work desk

8:00-9:00 Arrive at work with peppermint coffee, and ease into the day by catching up on library, scholarly communication, and OA news in Google Reader. Then moved onto reviewing an XML template for electronic theses and dissertations records.

9:00-10:00 Meeting with one of the FSU Metadata Librarians about an XML crosswalk. We need to get crosswalk the ProQuest XML file for the ETDs into a bepress compatible XML file in order to upload it to the DigiNole ETD collection. XML is very, very new to me… and metadata can be very complicated, but I’m learning! Plus she is very nice, and it is great to meet librarians outside of my office area and get to know more about their work.

10:00- 10:30 Get back to my desk. Checked Twitter and found out that Dan Cohen has been named the founding Executive Director of the Digital Public Library of American. Prepped my documents for a scholarly assessment later. A student library worker asked what I was working on, so I gushed about OA and the scholarly assessment form.

10:30-11:00 Walk to the FSU College of Law (15 minutes), get a hot tea from the Barrister’s Bistro/Starbucks, and settle into class.

11:00-12:25 Copyright Law class time! Last month my professor said that if something like 77% of us donated to the FSU Law Alumni Fundraiser then he’d sing to us and bring in cookies. He sang an example from an earlier class that was about MTV and to the tune of Backstreet Boys’ “I Want it That Way.” He also played the mandolin. It was pretty hilarious. Then we moved onto third party liability. Cases included Sony v. Universal, A&M v. Abdallah, and A&M Records v. Napster.

12:30-1:30 Walking back to the main library, eating lunch and reading. Lots of tweeting.

1:30-3:30 Worked on a scholarly assessment for a Department of Urban and Regional Planning faculty member who will be archiving his previously published articles into DigiNole Commons, FSU’s institutional repository. Looked up archiving and copyright policies for journals in SHERPA/RoMEO, confirmed policies on publisher websites, and then organized a new spreadsheet for DURP journals. Last Friday Micah gave presentation at the DURP faculty meeting and I think it went great, so I’m expecting more requests for assessments.

4:00 OH, NO! I forgot about my post for OANow! Tuesday is my posting day for OANow, a news source for open access and scholarly communication. I really enjoy getting to work on it, especially as the only student. I post every 2-3 weeks in a rotation with Micah and Jen. Since Micah just started parental leave (his son is adorable!), Jen and I have been holding down the #OANow fort for Tuesdays. I posted last week about the White House Directive (read it if you don’t know what it is), and Jen was supposed to post this week. Unfortunately, she is sick (totally empathize!) so I scrambled for a not so stellar post on the slow OA News day and posted about new OA policies.

6:00 Finally left work, drove home through the semi-annoying traffic, ate dinner, watched Bones, and took care of some non-work/school e-mails.

7:30-9:00 Finish up reading and notes for Thursday’s copyright class

9:00 Doctor Who while hula hooping and/or writing this bit up

BONUS: My Tuesday in gifs

Leave a Reply

